ugandakids

I think I’ve always assumed that we are the rich ones.
I’ve believed that because we have things that we are the fortunate ones.
And having stuff means we are the ones with lots to offer to those with less stuff than us.

Spending time in Uganda this month underlined that this really isn’t the case. Of course when it comes to money and resources I have much more than the children, young people and families I met. And for that I am thankful…and know I have a responsibility to share some of those resources.

But amidst the open hands we found, the hungry mouths we fed, and the needy people we met, I found a richness that I often don’t experience here in the more affluent West.

A richness in community
Richness of relationships
Richness in family life
Children rich in smiles
People rich in their contentment
Christians, rich in faith

I meet poor children all the time
Poor children who think happiness is found in 100 likes on their profile photo
Poor children who choose online gaming over hanging out with their friends
Poor children who turn up their nose at a meal on their table
Poor children who can’t seem to let a smile cross their face
Poor children who haven’t had a decent conversation with a parent all week
Poor children who think that fun is found in the bottom of a bottle

At the end of an incredible fortnight, I now sit in my home thankful for all that I have around me. But I also remain determined to recover what true richness really is.

“Listen, my dear brothers and sisters: Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love him?” James 2:5

