Wrote my first parable this week and shared it with a group of young people on Wednesday. Seemed to resonate with them so thought I’d share it. Hope you catch the meaning and the sentiments behind it…

__

I love my wife. I love her so much that every Friday morning I make an appointment to see her for an hour. I never miss it, well…apart from the mornings I forget to set my alarm or wake up too tired. It’s usually an enjoyable time but the best part about it is that there are lots of other people there too. It’s not just about seeing her of course, it’s about all the other people too. The conversation is always good but sometimes she does go a bit. I sometimes glance at my watch but only because I’m worried about the dinner being burnt or the football match that’s about to start. She even suggests seeing her again that night. I don’t get that. I don’t see the need to see her twice that day. I mean I love her and all but to come back to the same place just a few hours later seems pointless.

I love my wife. I love her so much that I even try to see her outside those Friday mornings too. I mean, I don’t manage it every day but now and again I do manage to spend about 10 minutes or so with her just after Neighbours is over and before Scrubs starts. I would chat to her every day but I don’t want it to become a meaningless ritual or routine. Sometimes she tells me she would like to spend more time with me, and that always sounds quite nice but I’ve got a really busy life. Assignments and revision get on top of me a bit, and I’ve got lots of other people to hang out with too. Plus, I don’t think she realises that she can’t always come before the Champions League or the new series of Grey’s Anatomy. I mean it’s series 6.

I love my wife. I love her so much that I talk about her to my friends. Well, when I say talk, I mean I let my actions do the talking. Everyone can see how passionate I am about her because they see how content I am in life or how often I go to see her on Friday mornings. I even invite them along on Friday mornings sometimes to watch how much I care about her, but they say they would find that all a bit weird or something. Oh well, their loss! I probably don’t talk about her as much as I should, but I don’t want to shove it down their throats or make them feel uncomfortable. I mean, all of my mates like different girls and so it doesn’t mean that my love is the only love.

I love my wife. I love our conversations. We talk for ages. I tell her all about my day and ask her to help me with things. Well, when I say talk, I do most of the talking. She’s pretty quiet sometimes so I like to keep things moving along so it doesn’t become too awkward. Come to think of it, I actually haven’t heard her speak for a while…but there’s not much time for that because I’ve so much to ask her to help me with. The other day I asked her to do 4 things for me and she managed them all by the end of the week. It’s amazing how much she does for me. Must tell her sometime…

I love my wife. Well, when I say love…

__

Please remember this is a parable – an earthly story with a deeper, heavenly meaning!!

