I’m not long back from leading our youth group tonight. We were exploring 1 Corinthians 12 together and thinking about how we are all a part of the body. Within an hour, one of our young people had created this photo and posted it online. Such an inspiring and visual take on the passage.

Yesterday I spent time in a prayer room in Antrim, and was moved by a prayer written on a wall by a young person. This prayer spoke of them being the only Christian in their family of 54, and how they wanted to remain close to Christ. What a powerful example to all of us.

That morning I had spent time with 10 young leaders from their school SU groups and had been challenged by their focus.

Last week I was invited into a small circle of 12-14 year olds after church who asked me if they could pray for me. And then they did just that. Humbled by their boldness and freedom.

Last year a kid in church shouted out “because I just love Jesus so much.”

A writer in the Bible said this:

“Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.”

The young people that I’ve encountered this week are doing this. and yet too often we leave it to the older, the wiser and the qualified, and miss out on this vital voice.

How we all need the humility to listen to the young people around us. To give them the space to learn. To allow them opportunities to share what their learning with us. And to let the challenges that they bring shape our lives.

