It’s so refreshing when bands don’t try to churn out the same things that have gone before them. Or attempt to duplicate the sounds of other artists who have already seen success and popularity.

First stumbled across the Rend Collective Experiment at a gig in the Black Box around 18 months ago. Their music that night grabbed me and their EP was creative and fresh. And so I was looking forward to their album launch gig in Belfast last month.

But even with high expectations, I was really blown away by the songs they have written, the sound they produced, and the new ways in which they expressed what’s written on their hearts. Even the whole concept of a ‘collective’ seems unique and I’m excited to see how this grows and develops over the years.

It seems like they approach music from a different angle, and I think the whole package has a lot to say to people in our country. Enjoy this music video which somehow captures their uniqueness…

