i guess sometimes i’d love to shake some people. or perhaps shout in their face until they ‘get it’. or even say one sentence that would dispel their apathy about their faith.

in the past few weeks i’ve found myself getting really frustrated with the attitude of some of my fellow Christians. in fact, not just attitudes…

words. topics of conversations. apparent lack of love or concern for those in need. talking endlessly about themselves. apathy among Christians. the choices of friends. young people not attending church…the list goes on…

…and so in the midst of all this i’ve had to catch myself on a number of occassions. i’ve had to realise the high horse that i’m sitting on. i’ve had to recognise how far short i fall in my own life. and in doing so, it’s suddenly hit me that the call to lead others means a call to love first and foremost regardless.

it’s so easy to allow a critical spirit to invade your mind sometimes and take over. it’s too easy to spend time picking out the faults in others. i’ve blogged about this before but i really want to be someone who looks for the good in people. who encourages and affirms rather than shoots down or back bites. someone who helps to call out the beauty in others.

yes, there will be times when other people annoy me, but the challenge is that in my frustrations i will keep loving, forgiving, affirming and encouraging. and to continue doing this even in a crowd when everyone else is doing the opposite.

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing”

