was coaching my wee lads last week and they were getting beat 3-0 in the middle of the second half. what really amused me was that our strikers were standing up front giving stacks of abuse to our wee keeper, even though the goals weren’t his fault. there was something really ironic about strikers who hadn’t scored themselves slagging off someone else’s shortcomings…

this always happened when i used to play rugby. the forwards always blamed the backs for not defending well while the backs told the forwards they weren’t giving them enough of the ball.

 

and so often i can be like my wee strikers and those whinging forwards. i constantly have to catch myself on when i am quick to point out other people’s failures rather than acknowledge my own. even in church, it is so much easier to listen and think how good it would be for other people to hear that, rather than taking into consideration how i need to heed the advice and change my own lifestyle…

 

i have seen the damage a critical spirit and critical words can have on people and it’s one thing that really gets me angry. i long that my words would be part of the solution. words that build up, encourage and uplift people…

 

on a side note, my wee team had quite a few matches over the last few weeks. really delighted for the lads as they reached the semi finals which we’re playing on wednesday night.

