i sat at dinner on thursday evening with 4 older men, each of whom inspired me greatly in the short hour i spent with them. as i ate, i listened intently as these men shared stories of how God has been speaking to them, leading them and working through them. it was one of those moments that i wanted to grab as much from as possible.

i suppose it reminded me that it’s more about how i finish this faith race than about how i start it. so often in this world we can get caught up in the now, now, now of it all, but these older and wiser folks reminded me of how this has the potential to be a lengthy journey with countless opportunities to grow, serve and change along the way.

and so i guess i’m saying that i’m nowhere near the finished article and i want to still be doing what i do in 40 years time. more and more, it’s the older finishers who inspire me. i want to be like them.

i don’t want age to discourage me, or marriage to confine me, or money to distract me. but instead, i want to be more like Jesus tomorrow than i am today.

“straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” phil 3:13-14

