antrim.jpgeven though i lived a couple of miles away in Templepatrick, when i was growing up i spent most of my time in Antrim. i went to school in Antrim. hung out with my mates in Antrim. went on dates with girls in Antrim. played countless sports in Antrim. went to church events in Antrim. ordered my take aways from Antrim. drove round Antrim. knew loadsa people from Antrim. i loved Antrim. 

and when i get a chance i still spend a bit of time there. at the golf club, leisure centre, snooker club, grabbing a drink, eating out. i love the place. i love the town. i love the people. i love the fact that Antrim was the first place in Northern Ireland to have a Starbucks!! i believe in the people that come from my town. i laugh at our humour. i back our sports teams. i pray for our churches.

but most of the times i hear people talking about my town, they are mainly slagging it off. just last week i was chatting to someone in subway at Junction 1 in Antrim. they didn’t come from the area and they descibed this as “the only good thing in Antrim.” now i could see why they said this because they were looking in from the outside. they weren’t wanting to be nasty, but i could feel my blood boiling and i had to catch a grip of myself as i knew i was becoming quite angry inside…

anyway, it’s fairly obvious but in my anger i suddenly realised my love for Antrim. i suppose when you spend lots of time in any place, you grow a love for it. could i even suggest develop a heart for it? and so when people slag my wee town off, i’ll stick up for it.

and yet God loves this town more than i do. He loves our streets more than i ever could. and He loves Antrim’s people immeasurably more than i can even imagine…

