cake.jpg

yesterday was a special day. in fact, the 5th march is a special day every year. it was my 8th birthday!now, i know what your thinking, i’m definitely a good bit taller than the average 8 year old and so i suppose i should confess that it was 8 years yesterday when i became a Christ-follower…

i guess i’d always placed a huge emphasis on head knowledge when i was younger. having grown up around church with my major competitive personality disfunction (!), i had constantly focused on getting the right answers and ticking all the boxes. add this to my huge desire to fit in wherever i went, as well as my need to win the approval of people in my secondary school and friendships, this all meant that i was a bit of waster 8 years ago. many would argue i still am…!!

but back then i walked around life with a lot of bitterness, arrogance, hatred and sectarianism. and not that any of those things went straight away but it’s been amazing to realise how God has freed me from many of those shackles and more over the past few years. of how He’s began to mould me and shape me, teaching me more, and constantly picking me up when i’ve fallen over.

every so often i need to be reminded of the pit i’ve been lifted from. of God’s faithfulness to me. of His unconditional and undeserved Love.

but i’m not satisfied. every day i become more and more frustrated at the sin and indifference that still exists in my life. and so, like Paul, i say these words, determined to become more like my beautiful Saviour…

“Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 3:12-14

