we’ve just hit November and we’re already talking about Christmas shopping. lights have already been switched on in Ballymena and the annual festivities are about to launch into full swing.

so thought it would be good to highlight a good place to do some of your Christmas shopping that i’ve come across in the last few months. it’s called Living Generously, and is associated with the 24/7 prayer initiative. you can access their website at http://www.livinggenerously.com/

lg11.jpg

basically it offers a huge shopping list of things you can invest in forothers. for a tiny amount of money you can buy things like supporting a family in Africa. or you can provide medical care for someone from Guatemala. even buy a meal for a homeless man in London. its amazing how easy it is to be able to make a difference to people’s lives on a practical level.

i’ve bought a few things through this website, and also encouraged others to do in the past, and its great to know exactly what your money is going to, as well as know that partner organisations are there on the ground who are passionate about this work. you can even put up a wedding list on it…!!

check it out cos as Jesus Himself said…

“for I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.” Matthew 25:35-36

really its not just about giving of our money. but instead its about our lifestyle and looking beyond ourselves. and what better time to do this than in the run up to the Christmas season. one where the message of Jesus is so often lost and forgotten. where money is spent needlessly and carelessly. when we enjoy special comforts that so many of God’s children don’t.

