I’m always dreaming out loud. Constantly thinking of new ideas and initiatives and visions. I love white sheets of paper. Blank canvasses scream with potential. Fresh creativity is what I crave so often.

Last week I was having coffee with 2 older men. Wise yet humble. Exciting visionaries yet intent listeners. I was telling them both about someone who inspires me as a creative, vibrant, visionary leader and one of the men sat quietly and asked this question:“And is he a listener?”

What an insightful question. I was immediately challenged and also rebuked about my own life. So often I can talk more than I listen, and dream and plan without listening to others first or even in the process.

ear.jpg 

Father, keep me listening to the beat of Your Spirit and allow me to make more time to hear the burdens of others than the time I take to speak my own.

