ball.jpg

Was down in Newcastle last night as I’m involved in coaching a football team. It’s a BB team made up of the best players in the Antrim area and we’re playing in the Northern Ireland Competition. We usually struggle because were a small area than the likes of Belfast, Down or Portadown, so have fewer boys to choose from…and we lost last night! 

But despite this, I’m pretty confident that these boys can go all the way to the final this year. They definitely deserve it cos their attitudes are brilliant and the banter levels are always high. We’ve had some harsh decisions against us in past years…but every time these guys battle hard and do themselves justice. We’ve some great players with huge potential, so alongside our tremendous team spirit, perhaps we can spring a few surprises! 

For me, I just love spending time with these guys. It’s always great craic and I always want to win of course, but in the midst of managerial decisions, substitutions and tactics, I really pray that I can model out an attitude of Christ to these guys. It’s a daunting thought but I desire to be an example to these young 14, 15 and 16 year olds in how I live my life…and enjoy my football too!! 

2 important matches this week so I’ll keep you updated!

