Image

I love a challenge. I enjoy trying to do something new…something I haven’t done before. Distance running was that challenge a few years ago, and it’s something I’ve continued and really enjoy now. But I fancied a new challenge….a different challenge.

And so this year I am only drinking water. That’s right, in 2013 no other beverage will touch my lips. No tea/coffee. No alcohol. No fizzy drinks. No pure orange. Nothing but water.

Every meal. Every day. Every week. Every month. This whole year.

I’m doing this for 3 main reasons:

1. To test my willpower and prove to myself that I don’t NEED certain things in life. Some things are a luxury & I want to be grateful for small things in life that others don’t get to experience
2. To raise a stack load of money for an amazing cause – the charity Stand By Me.
3. To take on a difficult challenge that will add to my general health and well being.

I am also being joined by 12 young people from church, who will each be taking on the challenge of drinking water-only for a month at a time.

I’m a couple of months into it all and it hasn’t been easy I’ll admit. Hard to get out of the routine of drinking whatever I fancied. Difficult to resist the temptation of sugary drinks with a pizza, a hot drink when I’m cold, or a flavoured drink with my dinner. But I suppose that’s the idea….and I’ve managed okay.

So this is our small sacrifice for one year. I would love you to join us by sacrificing a small amount of your money that will go towards raising a stack load of money for Stand By Me – a charity that works in a part of the world where water is considered a luxury.

Join me over here

Thanks…

